Author Topic: Fuel burn - question  (Read 6866 times)

Britt

• Been Here a Bit
    • View Profile
Fuel burn - question
« on: December 03, 2014, 02:14:30 PM »
It seems straight forward,  tank size and burn rate.  I started playing with these two settings and did see a difference in performance.  I have my track set to MPH, and I was assuming the tank size was then in gallons.  My track is 59 ft which is entered in the distance at the main screen. I see there is a meters to feet issue does that effect the fuel burn as well?  I am planning to play with this more tonight, is there a good starting point for these settings?   My track is 59 ft per lap, I typically run a 100 lap race and in v3 had the pit window at average every 20 laps. 

It does sound like anyone else is having this issue, so I started thinking maybe I am not doing something right. The only constant variable in my testing last night was the MPH and track length.   Please help. 
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 02:18:39 PM by Britt »

MrFlippant

• Here a Real Lot!
  • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    • View Profile
Re: Fuel burn - question
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2014, 11:07:39 PM »
The default Fuel Burn Rate of 1 is VERY slow. Your track is about the same length as the ones I've run on with RCS64, and it took forever to burn a tank down with the default settings. It's been recommended that to make the new version more like the old one, the burn rate should be 10. Just be sure to only change one thing at a time, so that you can see how it effects the burn rate.

I don't think track length has a bearing on fuel burn, but it certainly could. If it does, I'd like to know. I believe it's just a calculation of total throttle output level, so the more full throttle you use, the faster it will burn. Keeping the throttle low will burn less fuel. Depending on the car and driver, this can make a pretty massive difference.